Gershwin & Saint-Saëns

Saturday 16 March, 7.00pm
The Concourse, Chatswood

409 Victoria Av, Chatswood, 2067         Directions

Paul Terracini: Conductor
Robbin Reza: Piano

Copland: El Salon Mexico
Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F
Richard Meale: Mer de Glace
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No 3 in C minor (Organ Symphony)


Standard $50
Pensioner $35
Student/junior $12

Tickets available here


Ku-ring-gai Philharmonic Orchestra opens 2019 with a program of keyboard virtuosity.

Up and coming piano soloist, Robbin Reza, a 2018 Young Performers Award finalist and senior section winner in KPO’s 2007 Concerto Competition, performs George Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F, a work weaving distinctly jazz influenced idioms, including elements of Charleston, blues and ragtime, into the classical piano concerto form. Although the classical music world initially gave this jazz inspired work a lukewarm reception, it has come to be treasured for its innovative rhythms and sound colours and vibrant orchestration. Gershwin regarded his Piano Concerto - which he initially dubbed the New York Concerto - as a “spontaneous expression of the nervous energy of modern American life”.

Robbin Reza

Australian Pianist Robbin Reza (23 Years) completed his Bachelor of Music in 2016 with First Class Honours at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, studying with Daniel Herscovitch.


Paul Terracini

Dr Paul Terracini was born in Sydney and has enjoyed a career in Australia and internationally as an instrumentalist, composer, arranger, and conductor. He has held permanent positions as Principal Trumpet in the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra; Lecturer in Trumpet, Brass Ensemble and Big Band at the Queensland Conservatorium of Music; and Solo Trumpet in the Danish Chamber Players, Denmark.